Students are taught in groups which have been set according to their current attainment grades and their target grades respectively.

The aim of teaching mathematics is centred on students becoming productive members of society; becoming successful learners, confident individuals and responsible citizens.

The focus of the mathematics curriculum for students is the acquisition of skills, mathematical fluency, mathematical reasoning and problem solving.

We regularly provide detailed written and verbal feedback and we allow students to review their class work.

Progression is now decided by not only the understanding of concepts but the ability to solve worded problems whereby students can apply the skills they have learned.

The Mathematical content is grouped under 6 areas:

  • Number
  • Algebra
  • Ratio, Proportion, Rates of Change
  • Geometry and Measures
  • Probability
  • Statistics

Key content includes:

Number: Rounding and estimating, the four operations, fractions, decimals and percentages

Algebra: Forming, simplifying, expanding, factorising expressions and solving linear equations

Ratio, Proportion, Rates of Change: Simplifying ratios, sharing quantities into a given ratio

Geometry and Measures: Angles and polygons, transformations, area and perimeter of 2D and 3D shapes

Probability: Probability experiments, expected outcomes, theoretical probability

Statistics: Collecting and presenting data using tables and graphs, analysing data using averages and range.

In KS4 students will then begin their preparations for their GCSE examinations in Year 11. They will further develop their skills in the 6 main areas.

The GCSE qualification consists of three equally-weighted written examination papers at either Foundation tier or Higher tier. Paper 1 is a non-calculator assessment and a calculator is allowed for Paper 2 and Paper 3.  Each paper is 1 hour and 30 minutes long. Each paper has 80 marks. The qualification will be graded and certificated on a scale from 9 to 1 using the total mark across all three papers where 9 is the highest grade. Foundation tier allows grading from 1 to 5. Higher tier allows grading from 4 to 9.

For more information about the GCSE Mathematics course content please visit: